× Home The winemaker The vineyards The range Latest News Tastings

Furmint

A class of its own

International boundaries are not the „ulitma ratio“. Our Furmint proves this by combining cold continental climate, Mediterranean warmth and Pannonian fire. Lime-tree blossom and chamomile, hay flowers and herbs, sponge cake and brioche - lively on the palate, luscious and crisp, very well built body. Tradition on one side and innovation on the other, this is what shapes the brilliant frontier commuter. With the slogan “Indulgence is always a game of contradiction – and this is why it is considered the most vivid feeling”. (Gero von Randow). Cheers, prost or Egészségedre – in particular in combination with a roasted fogosch / pikeperch!

Furmint
Icon Lage

Site

The Turner is the heart of Ruster Berg (the hills of Rust), the soil type here is called Rust gravel: Primordial sediments of crystalline rock, sand and limestone. To the West the site is protected by an old stone wall, while sloping down toward the lake to the Southeast. The vineyard was acquired by the family Kraft, our ancestors who came from Thüringen in 1770. We planted Furmint here in 1992.

Icon Genuss

Pleasure

The dry Furmint is characterized by a firey note. Typical is the aroma of golden apple and quince, often one also finds ripe heirloom vineyard peaches, above is the delicate fragrance of chamomile and linden blossom. I particularly like to drink Furmint with one of my favorite dishes: Paprika chicken with “Nockerl“ – little Austrian dumplings. Perhaps because of the firey note?

Icon Genuss

Fun to know

„Wine Grapes.“ A reference work of the Britisch wine journalists Jancis Robinson and Julia Harding, which they compiled with the Swiss scientist José Vouillamoz. Over 1,300 Rebsorten were described, including Furmint. Many stories I have been telling over the years belong in the land of legends, one of these is true: Furmint originated in Central Europe. Die Rebfläche in Österreich umfasst nur 9 Hektar. The variety makes high demands on soil and climate – and finds in Freistadt Rust the best conditions.

Back to the overview

Heidi Schröck

Rathausplatz 8 | 7071 Rust | Österreich
T +43 2685 229
heidi@heidi-schroeck.com

× Home Die Winzerin Das Weingut Das Sortiment Latest News Weinproben

Furmint

FURMINT KLASSIK!

Ländergrenzen sind nicht die „ultima ratio.“. Das beweist unser Furmint, der kontinentale Kühle, mediterrane Wärme und pannonisches Feuer vereint. Lindenblüten und Kamille, Heublumen und Kräuter, Biskuit und Brioche im Duft – am Gaumen springlebendig, saftig und knackig, gut gebaut. Tradition auf der einen, Innovation auf der anderen Seite, das prägt diesen genialen „Grenzgänger.“, getreu dem Motto: „Genuss ist immer ein Spiel der Widersprüche – und genau deshalb auch das lebendigste aller Gefühle.“. (Gero von Randow ) Zum Wohl, Prost oder Egészségedre – am besten mit einem gebratenen Fogosch/Zander!

Furmint
Icon Lage

Gebiet

Der Turner ist ein Herzstück am Ruster Berg, die dortige Bodenart wird als Ruster Schotter bezeichnet. Dabei handelt es sich um urzeitliche Flussablagerungen von kristallinen Gesteinen, Sand und Kalk. Nach Westen wird die Lage von einer alten Steinmauer geschützt, nach Südosten neigt sie sich dem See zu. Der Weingarten wurde von der Familie Kraft erworben, unseren Vorfahren, die um 1770 aus Thüringen kamen. 1992 haben wir hier Furmint ausgepflanzt.

Icon Genuss

Genuss

Dem trockenen Furmint sagt man eine feurige Note nach. Typisch ist ein Aroma von gelben Äpfeln und Quitten, oft auch von reifen Weingartenpfirsichen, darüber breitet sich der feine Duft von Kamille und Lindenblüten aus. Mir schmeckt der Furmint am besten zu einem meiner Lieblingsgerichte: Paprikahendl mit Nockerln. Vielleicht wegen der feurigen Note?

Icon Genuss

Wissenswertes

„Wine Grapes.“ ist ein Nachschlagewerk der britischen Weinjournalistinnen Jancis Robinson und Julia Harding, das sie mit dem Schweizer Wissenschaftler José Vouillamoz verfasst haben. Über 1.300 Rebsorten werden beschrieben, darunter natürlich auch der Furmint. Viele Geschichten, die ich jahrelang über die Sorte erzählte, gehören ins Reich der Legenden, einiges ist auch wahr: Der Furmint ist in Mitteleuropa beheimatet. Die Rebfläche in Österreich umfasst nur 9 Hektar. Die Sorte stellt hohe Ansprüche an Boden und Klima – und findet rund um die Freistadt Rust beste Bedingungen.

Zurück zur Übersicht

Heidi Schröck

Rathausplatz 8 | 7071 Rust | Österreich
T +43 2685 229
heidi@heidi-schroeck.com