× Home The winemaker The vineyards The range Latest News Tastings

Ruster Ausbruch

Wine of the year - Gault & Millau 2019
100 points - Wine Enthusiast

On the Wings of Dawn

The finest selection of Trockenbeeren (dried berries) from Welschriesling and Furmint grapes were harvested, the must fermented in 225-liter barrels, then filtered and bottled after 24 months of storage. Due to its concentration and high specific gravity, it has the potential to mature for decades. It needs partners that communicate with it on an equal footing!

Ruster Ausbruch
Icon Lage

Site

During a service in the Protestant parish church in Rust, I heard the words from Psalm 139 for the first time: „If I take the wings of dawn and dwell beyond the sea, even there your hand guides me, your right hand holds me fast..“
I chose the „wings of dawn.“ as a name for our Ruster Ausbruch. Much that is important for the emergence of botrytis happens in the first hours of the day: the rising sun whose rays first appear on the lake, the morning dew and the mist that lies over the vineyards like a heavy blanket, the warm rays of the morning sun that together with the wind dry the berries.

Icon Genuss

Pleasure

The flavors that can be detected in the nose of a wine also make good food pairings. The abundance of flavors in an Ausbruch can be paired with a lamb ragout with dried apricots or a spicy steak just as well as with artichokes, ginger, pumpkin and chili, to speak nothing of classical Stilton or Roquefort. M-y personal tip is the cheese dessert that my niece Barbara Schandl serves in her wine tavern (www.schandlwein.com).

Icon Genuss

Fun to know

On December 3, 1681, at the Diet of Hungary in Sopron, the little market of Rust received the right to become a royal Hungarian free town. Ever since, a coronet has graced our town’s coat of arms with the three cattails and the lake. Emperor Leopold I charged a high fee for the right to become an official free town: our ancestors had to bring 60,000 gold guilder and 28,000 liters of Ruster Ausbruch to the court in Vienna.
In 1992, together with Peter Schandl, Robert Wenzel, Hans Feiler, Fritz Seiler and Ernst Triebaumer, I founded the Cercle Ruster Ausbruch (www.rusterausbruch.at). In the meantime, we have grown to a total of ten establishments and work continuously to make our great dessert wines better-known.

Back to the overview

Heidi Schröck

Rathausplatz 8 | 7071 Rust | Österreich
T +43 2685 229
heidi@heidi-schroeck.com

× Home Die Winzerin Das Weingut Das Sortiment Latest News Weinproben

Ruster Ausbruch

Wein des Jahres - Gault & Millau 2019
100 Punkte - Wine Enthusiast

Auf den Flügeln der Morgenröte

Trockenbeeren der Sorten Welschriesling und Furmint wurden in feinster Selektion geerntet, der Most in 225-Liter-Fässern vergoren und nach 24 Monaten Lagerung filtriert und abgefüllt. Durch seine Konzentration und Dichte hat er Reifepotenzial für Jahrzehnte. Er braucht Partner, die mit ihm auf Augenhöhe kommunizieren!

Ruster Ausbruch
Icon Lage

Gebiet

Während eines Gottesdienstes in der evangelischen Pfarrkirche in Rust hörte ich die Worte aus Psalm 139 zum ersten Mal: Nähme ich Flügel der Morgenröte und bliebe am äußersten Meer, so würde auch dort deine Hand mich führen und deine Rechte mich halten.
Die Flügel der Morgenröte habe ich als Namen für unseren Ruster Ausbruch gewählt. Vieles, das für die Entstehung der Botrytis wichtig ist, passiert in den ersten Stunden des Tages: die aufgehende Sonne, deren Strahlen sich am See brechen, der Tau und der Nebel, der wie eine schwere Decke auf den Weingärten liegt, die warmen Sonnenstrahlen des Vormittags, die mit dem Wind die Beeren trocknen.

Icon Genuss

Genuss

Was man beim Wein riecht, passt auch gut als Speise dazu. Die Aromenfülle eines Ausbruchs kann zu einem Lammragout mit getrockneten Marillen oder einem würzigen Steak ebenso passen wie zu Artischocken, Ingwer, Kürbis und Chili, ganz abgesehen vom klassischen Stilton oder Roquefort. Mein persönlicher Tipp ist das Käsedessert, das meine Nichte Barbara Schandl in ihrer Buschenschank (www.schandlwein.com) serviert.

Icon Genuss

Wissenswertes

Am 3. Dezember 1681, am Reichstag zu Ödenburg, erhielt der kleine Markt Rust das Recht einer königlich ungarischen Freistadt. Seit damals ziert ein Krönchen unser Stadtwappen mit den drei Schilfkolben und dem See. Kaiser Leopold I. ließ sich die Verleihung des Stadtrechts gut bezahlen. 60.000 Goldgulden und 28.000 Liter Ruster Ausbruch mussten unsere Vorfahren an den Hof nach Wien bringen.
Im Jahr 1992 gründete ich mit Peter Schandl, Robert Wenzel, Hans Feiler, Fritz Seiler und Ernst Triebaumer den Cercle Ruster Ausbruch (www.rusterausbruch.at). Mittlerweile sind wir zehn Betriebe und arbeiten kontinuierlich daran, unsere großen Süßweine noch bekannter zu machen.

Zurück zur Übersicht

Heidi Schröck

Rathausplatz 8 | 7071 Rust | Österreich
T +43 2685 229
heidi@heidi-schroeck.com