× Home The winemaker The vineyards The range Latest News Tastings

The Wine-growing Region

Our vineyards, which total around 10 hectares, spread out over the gentle hillsides of Rust’s hill country.

They point towards the southeast and have sunlight from morning till evening. The oldest vineyard was planted in 1955 and the youngest was opened in the Riede Vogelsang area in 2013. (Riede is an Austrian term describing special winegrowing areas.) We oversee a rather broad spectrum of grapes, with Welschriesling, Weissburgunder, Grauburgunder, Furmint, Gelber Muskateller, Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Blaufränkisch and Zweigelt.

The wine region

Free city Rust - at Lake Neusiedl

We are located in northern Burgenland, on the western bank of Lake Neusiedl. With an area of around 320 km2, the westernmost steppe lake in Europe is also Austria’s largest lake – and as a “temperature regulator” it is also very important for wine-growing in our region, which is part of the Pannonian lowlands. It came about millions of years ago when the Pannonian Sea dried up, forming the basis for the soil. The “Ruster Schotter” (“Rust crushed rock”) is a special type of soil that consists of loamy sand, lime scale and primary rock. Sometimes ammonites are found embedded in the rocks. The Bernsteinstrasse, an important ancient trade route, also left traces – in the form of clay fragments.

Many hardworking helpers harvest the grapes exclusively by hand. For the dry white wines, the grapes are de-stemmed and pressed and the wine lees settle overnight. Subsequently, they ferment at 19° to 20°C and then remain on the yeast for some time, which allows them to develop their typical character and style. The red wines are fermented at 29°C and then lie on the skins for about 14 days before being gently pressed. Subsequently, they ripen for 9 months (Zweigelt) or 14 months (Blaufränkisch) in large oak barrels in the wine cellar.

The stars in our cellar are the “sugar babies,” fine dessert wines, especially the “Ruster Ausbruch.” For them we use berries that have shrunk to raisins; the berries are afflicted with botrytis. We harvest them from the best white wine vineyards and allow them to sit for several hours before pressing. The musts usually ferment for another 3 to 4 months, until they reach an alcohol level of 10 to 12%. Afterwards, they spend two years in small acacia barrels before we bring them to market.

By the way, the term “Ausbruch” (a German term for wine made from select, fully ripened grapes) is reserved for Trockenbeerenauslesen (lit. “dried berries selection,” a medium- to full-bodied dessert wine) from the town of Rust, Austria in the wine laws, which protects the origin of wines that bear this label.

Heidi Schröck

Rathausplatz 8 | 7071 Rust | Österreich
T +43 2685 229
heidi@heidi-schroeck.com

× Home Die Winzerin Das Weingut Das Sortiment Latest News Weinproben

Die Lagen!

Unsere Weingärten umfassen insgesamt rund 10 Hektar ...

Sie verteilen sich über die sanften Hänge des Ruster Hügellandes. Sie sind nach Süd-Osten ausgerichtet und haben Sonnenschein vom Morgen bis zum Abend. Der älteste Weingarten wurde 1955 gepflanzt, der jüngste in der Riede Vogelsang im Jahr 2013. Wir betreuen ein relativ breites Sortenspektrum, mit Welschriesling, Weißburgunder, Grauburgunder, Furmint, Gelbem Muskateller, Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Blaufränkisch und Zweigelt.

Das Weingebiet

Freistadt Rust - am Neusiedlersee

Wir befinden uns hier im nördlichen Burgenland, am Westufer des Neusiedler Sees. Mit rund 320 km² Fläche ist der westlichste Steppensee Europas auch der größte See Österreichs – und als „Temperaturregler“ ganz wichtig für den Weinbau in unserer Region, die Teil der pannonischen Tiefebene ist. Entstanden ist sie vor Millionen Jahren durch das Austrocknen des pannonischen Meeres und hat die Basis für die Böden gebildet. Der „Ruster Schotter“ ist eine besondere Bodenform, bestehend aus lehmigem Sand, Kalk und Urgestein. Manchmal findet man noch Ammoniten in den Steinen eingeschlossen. Auch die Bernsteinstraße, eine wichtige antike Handelsroute, hat ihre Spuren hinterlassen – in Form von Tonscherben.

Viele fleißige Helfer ernten die Trauben ausschließlich von Hand. Für die trockenen Weißweine werden sie gerebelt (entrappt) und gepresst, über Nacht setzen sich die Trubteile ab. Anschließend vergären sie bei einer Temperatur von 19 bis 20 °C und bleiben danach noch einige Zeit auf der Hefe, wodurch sie ihren typischen Charakter und Stil entwickeln. Die Rotweine werden bei 29 °C vergoren und liegen danach etwa 14 Tage auf den Schalen, bevor sie sanft gepresst werden. Anschließend reifen sie 9 Monate (Zweigelt) bzw. 14 Monate (Blaufränkisch) in großen Eichenfässern im Weinkeller.

Die Stars in unserem Keller sind die „Sugar Babies“, edelsüße Weine, speziell der „Ruster Ausbruch“. Dafür verwenden wir die zu Rosinen geschrumpften Beeren, die von Botrytis befallen sind. Wir ernten sie aus den besten Weißweingärten und lassen sie vor dem Pressen einige Stunden stehen. Die Moste vergären meist 3 bis 4 Monate bis zu einem Alkoholgehalt von 10 bis 12% vol. Danach bleiben sie zwei Jahre in kleinen Akazienfässern, bevor wir sie auf den Markt bringen.

Heidi Schröck

Rathausplatz 8 | 7071 Rust | Österreich
T +43 2685 229
heidi@heidi-schroeck.com